Yesterday’s Imaginary Post: Can I Use My Birthday as an Excuse?

Well, I’m off to a rocky start… two days into this month’s daily blogging challenge, and I already have a gap in my track record.  But here’s what I might have written yesterday:

Around the table are old friends and new ones.  Some have known me since high school or before—others I’ve met only within the past few years.  Each person reminds me of the time in my life that we met, why we connected, and the bonds that kept us together through the years.  With each friend comes a “what if”:  what if we hadn’t kept in touch?  What if I’d chosen a different school?  What if  you hadn’t asked to borrow paper from me that first day of study hall?

I’ve always been shy about bringing people together to celebrate my birthday, but it’s something that M has forced encouraged me to do… and something I’m grateful for.  The older I get, the easier it is to lose touch with friends, and the more fun it is to have an excuse, any excuse, to get together!  Today reminded me that while I’m grateful for the months of travel I experienced, there is truly no place better than being home among friends.

via Daily Prompt: Imaginary

6 thoughts on “Yesterday’s Imaginary Post: Can I Use My Birthday as an Excuse?

  1. I wholeheartedly agree it’s great to celebrate another year of life with friends. In my case however, and living in the country, I have to travel to be with many of them. Yo yo yo…I do have a guest room people!!!

    Like

  2. Yes, you can use it as an excuse! Great post – and wishing you a belated happy birthday! 😃🦉🎂🎂🎂🎉🎉🎉

    Like

Leave a Reply

