June Projects Updates

writing

It’s been almost 3 months since I started this blog!  I can’t believe how quickly the time has passed.  Even though I still don’t know exactly what I’m doing with this blog, I love that it has helped me connect with people across the world who are on their own journeys of discovery!

I decided last month to give monthly updates on the projects I mentioned in my very first blog post, to hold myself accountable and to document my progress over time.  I missed the first day of the month by several days, but better late than never, right?

Goals Big and Small:

1.  Downsizing

Okay, I haven’t done a great deal of getting rid of things this month, but I did show self-restraint and avoid buying new things!  Specifically, I avoided buying books and clothes, my two biggest weaknesses as a consumer!  Still, I stumbled across a schedule I’d made in February, with plans to get rid of unnecessary items by category as shown below:

WIN_20160607_204820
Exhibit A

 

It’s a bit embarrassing to be confronted with evidence of just how much I’ve strayed from that goal!  Well, embarrassing but motivating!

Another factor might get me back on track with my cleaning schedule as well–it’s likely that M might be transferred abroad for work for several months later this year!  If we end up overseas in a tiny apartment, downsizing will be essential!

 

2.  Plan the wedding

We have a venue!  And a date!  And a… um, well, I guess that’s as far as we’ve gotten for now.  But we have finally, FINALLY started to make progress on this front!

 

3.  Music

In spite of the carpal tunnel, I still feel like I’ve made progress this month.  The sad state of my right arm forced me to focus on singing more than piano, but I feel like I’ve suddenly gotten to a good place with my voice, especially in the lower range.  I’m almost ready to sing in front of M–something I’ve avoided doing throughout the 10 months we’ve lived together…

Pictured above: some music I’m working on, and a temporary solution…  Carpal tunnel is caused by repetitive stress injuries, but a contributing factor can be the angle of the wrists while typing or playing an instrument.  My piano bench has always been a little low relative to the keyboard, so I propped it up on some old textbooks and stacked blankets on top of it!  Luckily, M got me a new, more adjustable keyboard stand for my birthday, so this ridiculous situation will be resolved soon!

4.  Career

Well, I turned in my letters of resignation this morning, so that makes it official!  Starting June 27, I will be a free woman!  I’m not sure exactly what’s next for me–and the potential move complicates things.  I have some ideas for the next few months, but I have a lot of thinking to do before I launch into a new career.

 

5.  Be neater

This might just be the dream that has to die to make way for better dreams.  I’ve always had a strong feeling that in order to push yourself to be the best you can be in one way, you need a vice to balance it out.  I’m not a smoker anymore, so maybe occasionally leaving a sink full of dishes or tossing clothes carelessly on the floor is a healthier alternative?

 

This could be my future…

 

 

So maybe, instead of worrying about the state of my kitchen sink I’ll set a new goal: be a better friend.  Working on the guest list for my wedding has made me realize how many wonderful friends I have that I haven’t seen in ages!  It’s been good to reach out and connect to friends I’d fallen out of touch with, but it’s also been a reminder to spend more time with the people I care about!

 

6. Writing

I’ve been writing more, but it’s mostly blogish stuff, not bookish stuff–but I’m okay with that!  I’ll keep the goal of someday writing a book because it’s good to have stretch goals!

Whew, that was a lot!  I was going to include an update on my time management project, but I think I’ll save it for another post.

 

For anyone who’s made it to the end of this post, thanks for reading!  Do you have any projects that you’re working on?  How do you hold yourself accountable?  What vices do you have that express themselves when you’re otherwise at your best?

9 thoughts on “June Projects Updates

  1. Miss Addis you have just blown me away! Progress is one foot in front of the next, and that you are doing! Each new day is a chance to begin…keep it going…great job!

    I do have a couple of on going projects…
    #1 endlessly searching for someone to write music for lyrics to make songs
    #2 writing this book…(or 2)
    While still failing to find a regular posting schedule (they say for optimum readers I should be consistent…sigh). I’ll get there someday!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Marijo! 🙂 Honestly, I’m used to planning elaborate projects that never get off the ground, so I’m surprised I’ve gotten this far with so many of my endeavors!

      You have some amazing projects of your own! I can’t wait to hear how your songs and books progress!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Downsizing and neatness, I feel, are never ending battles! Especially if you and your significant other have different approaches to such things. But I always feel so much better about myself and our house when I accomplish both.

    Congratulations on starting a new chapter in your professional life! How exicitng. Never too old to dream a new dream!

    Like

    1. Thanks, Lex! M is definitely better at getting rid of unnecessary things, but I’m probably more consistent about cleaning. It actually works out pretty well–as long as I can ignore the extra dishes, and he can ignore my over-filled closet! 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

